Scotts Bluff County - County Clerk

The County Clerk's office is responsible for fulfilling open records requests, issuing marriage licenses, issuing liquor licenses, payroll, accounts payable, voter registration, and conducting all county, state and federal elections.

Birth and death records are no longer filed at the County level. Link to DHHS Vital Records below.

Marriage license applicants are required to provide the following information: maiden names of both mothers, birth places of all four parents; social security numbers; photographic identification. The fee for a marriage license is $25.00, checks and cash only, No credit cards. The license is good for one year. No medical tests are required in the State of Nebraska. The fee for Certified copy of a marriage license is $9.00, checks and cash only, No credit cards. Online form available here or forms are available at the County Clerk office. Instructions for obtaining a marriage license are below. Both parties need to be present to obtain marriage license.

The County Clerk Office does NOT handle Motor Vehicle Titles, they may be obtained through the County Auto Registration Office.

Scotts Bluff County does NOT have any taxpayer-funded lobbyists on retainer. Scotts Bluff County is a member of NACO - Nebraska Association of County Officials. Scotts Bluff County pays dues based on property valuation to NACO. NACO is not retained as a lobbying organization as such but the NACO Executive Director works closely with the Legislature when the Senators are in session and also requests various Senators to introduce legislation in behalf of NACO.

Contact Information


Administration Building - 1st Floor
1825 10th Street
Gering, NE 69341

Office Hours

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Open through the lunch hour
Closed Weekends and Holidays


308 436-6600 - Main Number

Kelly Sides - County Clerk

Frequently Asked Questions

Additional Links

Updated: 2019.09.06 - 7:30 MDT