Scotts Bluff County - Sheriff's Office

Handgun Purchase Permit

In an effort to better serve the citizens of Scotts Bluff County we are now offering the opportunity to download and complete the Firearm Purchase Certificate. Below are instructions on obtaining and submitting firearm purchase certificate applications.

We are still open to the public by appointment only.

Pursuant to Nebraska Statute 69-2403 a firearm purchase certificate s required to purchase, lease, rent, or receive a handgun. The law applies to both retail and private party transactions. The law also prohibits selling, leasing, renting, or transferring a handgun to a person who does not possess a handgun certificate.

Download and print the firearm purchase certificate application HERE.

Or call our office at (308) 436-6667 and arrange for an application to be mailed to you.

Application Submission Instructions:

  1. You must be 21 years of age or older to submit an application.
  2. Complete the application, have it notarized, and write your phone number at the top of the form;
  3. Provide a photocopy of your Nebraska Driver’s License/State ID with your current address;
    • If applicable a photocopy of your permanent resident card;
  4. Mail the completed application, required identification photocopy, and $5.00 fee payable to:
    Scotts Bluff County Sheriff’s Office
    1825 10th Street
    Gering, NE 69341

Required Age, Residency and Documents

  • Current Nebraska operator’s license or Nebraska State ID Card. The Nebraska license or ID must have you correct legal name. The address on your Nebraska license or ID must be a current residential address in Scotts Bluff County and match the address on the application. Completed permits will only be mailed to the Scotts Bluff County residential address on the application. We will not accept applications or issue purchase permits to applicants with only a post office box.
  • If your only form of ID is a Military ID card (must be active duty or temporarily or permanently stationed in Nebraska with military orders), you must also provide two forms of proof of Scotts Bluff County residency (i.e. utility bill, vehicle registration, pay stub, voter registration card, etc.) with your current address.
  • Application fee of $5.00
  • Applicants born on a United States military base outside the U.S. must provide their birth certificate
  • Applicants that are not U.S. citizens must also provide a copy of their citizenship papers, U.S. Passport, or alien resident card.
  • Applicants must be at least 21 years of age
  • Applicants must be residents of Scotts Bluff County


Applications will be denied if the applicant:

  • Fails to answer all questions on the application
  • Under indictment or information in any court for a felony, or any other crime for which the judge could imprison you for more than one year (i.e. charges have been filed in court)
  • Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year
  • Is a fugitive from justice
  • Is an unlawful user of or addicted to, marijuana, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any controlled substance
  • Have been adjudicated mentally defective
  • Been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
  • Are an alien illegally in the United States
  • If you have ever renounced your United States citizenship
  • Are subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an intimate partner or child of such partner
  • Been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence

What to Do When You Receive Your Firearms Purchase Certificate

Upon receipt of your certificate, please inspect the document and ensure that the personal information is correct and the Chief Deputy’s signature appears. You will need to sign your name on the line above the Chief Deputy. In the event of any typographical error or omission, please bring the certificate to the Sheriff’s Office within thirty days for any corrections. Notification of any corrections beyond thirty days after issuance shall require a new application.